Should Tracy Morgan be Forgiven?

So by now we all now the shit Tracy Morgan said when he went off the deep end of his already very shallow pool. I won’t repeat the how and the when but I will place the exact words that he said and then ask yourselves if his apology was enough. Also I have statements by GLAAD’s President Jarrett Barrios and Tina Fey.

His rant / insults,

“The gays needed to quit being pu–ies and not be whining about something as insignificant as bullying,” and if his son said he was gay “he better come home and talk to him like a man…or he would pull out a knife and stab that little [n—–] to death.”

His apology,

“I want to apologize to my fans and the gay & lesbian community for my choice of words at my recent stand-up act in Nashville. I’m not a hateful person and don’t condone any kind of violence against others. While I am an equal opportunity jokester, and my friends know what is in my heart, even in a comedy club this clearly went too far and was not funny in any context.”

Responses,

GLAAD President Jarrett Barrios responded, “Jokes that make light of violence directed at gay and lesbian youth aren’t only offensive, they put our kids in harm’s way. Tracy Morgan must not only apologize, but assure us that this won’t happen again and send a clear message to Americans that anti-gay violence is no joke.” Also, GLAAD has offered to arrange a meeting between Morgan and family members who have lost children to anti-gay violence in order to “help him understand exactly why his rant touched so deep a nerve.”

Tina Fey, Star and Executive Producer 30 Rock:

I’m glad to hear that Tracy apologized for his comments. Stand-up comics may have the right to “work out” their material in its ugliest and rawest form in front of an audience, but the violent imagery of Tracy’s rant was disturbing to me at a time when homophobic hate crimes continue to be a life-threatening issue for the GLBT Community.
It also doesn’t line up with the Tracy Morgan I know, who is not a hateful man and is generally much too sleepy and self-centered to ever hurt another person.
I hope for his sake that Tracy’s apology will be accepted as sincere by his gay and lesbian coworkers at “30 Rock”, without whom Tracy would not have lines to say, clothes to wear, sets to stand on, scene partners to act with, or a printed-out paycheck from accounting to put in his pocket.
The other producers and I pride ourselves on “30 Rock” being a diverse, safe, and fair workplace.

NBC entertainment chairman also made a statement but I love Tina Fey comedy so I placed hers.
How do you like them apples? What do you think about Tina’s reaction?

Reference imperfectparent.com

Leave a Reply

